‘The Other History of the DC Universe’ Cancelled

Well, pissed is an understatement.

Ever since the Black label was announced over at DC comics there was one project in particular that caught my eye. The team-up of Alex Dos Diaz and John Ridley (yes, THAT Ridley, writer of 12 Years a Slave) were putting together the five issue limited series called The Other History of the DC Universe.

The description for #1 stated,

“…examines the mythology of the DC Universe in this compelling new miniseries that reframes iconic moments of DC history and charts a previously unexplored sociopolitical thread as seen through the prism of DC Super Heroes who come from traditionally disenfranchised groups…”

It would have focused on Black Lightning (who has become one of my favorite DC characters), Rene Montoya, Mal Duncan, Bumblebee, Katana, and Vixen (so F$%&# underrated I can’t even stand it).

This was RIGHT up my alley. I am a passionate fan of the underdog. There are so, so, so many characters within comic lore. I don’t think we necessarily need to see established characters retconned to represent minority groups, but rather take characters that exist and invest in them.

I saw this limited series as a wonderful opportunity to continue that investment.

It was slated to release on January 30, but as far was we know it’s indefinitely shelved.

I see this as a missed opportunity but time will tell just what the F#$^ happened over at DC.

 

Leave a comment